CWP and fingerprint hours: Monday - Friday (excluding holidays), 9:00 - 11:00am and 1:30 - 4:30pm
Download the Idaho CWL Law at a Glance PDF here.
Informational Guide Updated on July 1, 2018. The following information pertains to the Idaho Concealed Weapon laws; specifically Idaho Code Section 18-3302. STEPS TO OBTAIN A REGULAR OR ENHANCED CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
An application may be obtained from the Payette County Sheriff’s Office, Jail area located at 1130 3rd Ave North, Payette ID 83661. Telephone # is (208) 642-6006 extension 1142. After completing the application, it may be returned to the PCSO Jail area at any time. We do require DOCUMENTED proof of training at the time the application is accepted (a summary of acceptable training is later outlined for both a Regular and Enhanced License).
Please provide a copy of your DD214 showing discharge status for all applicants providing military status applying for an initial or renewing an Idaho Concealed weapons permits. If you are applying for an alien application you will also need to provide your Permanent Resident Alien Card.
KNOWINGLY PROVIDING FALSE INFORMATION ON A CONCEALED WEAPONS APPLICATION IS A CRIME AND MAY SUBJECT YOU TO ARREST AND PROSECUTION (Idaho Code 18-3302C). All applicants are to be fingerprinted upon acceptance of the application by the CW office.
$56.10 The initial fee is set by Idaho Code for a Regular and Enhanced permit.
This fee may be paid by cash, check, money order, or by debit/credit card. Please make checks or money orders payable to the Payette County Sheriff. Applicants may be required to provide appropriate identification at the time of fingerprinting. You will be notified of approval/denial at the completion of the background check. The law allows us 90 days to complete this process. Upon approval, applicants will be notified by mail to proceed to the Driver’s License Division of the Payette County Sheriff’s Office to be photographed and receive their concealed weapon permit.
The concealed weapon license will expire five (5) years from the time of issuance.
$37.85 Renewal fee is set by Idaho Code, at the time of submitting a renewal application. A renewal license will also be valid for a period of five (5) years from expiration date. Any licensee renewing their permit may renew 90 days prior to or 90 days after the expiration without a late fee. From 91 days to 180 days, an additional $10.00 late fee will be added. After 181 days, the licensee must submit an initial application and pay the fees subscribed above.
$20.00 Retired Officer application processing fee
CONCEALED WEAPON REGULATIONS
Individuals who have been licensed to carry a concealed weapon or those who can legally carry a concealed weapon without a license may NOT carry a concealed weapon into a courthouse, juvenile detention facility, jail or public or private school.
Except in a person’s place of abode or fixed place of business, a person shall not carry a concealed weapon without a concealed weapons license except:
1. In the person’s place of abode or fixed place of business.
2. On property in which the person has any ownership or leasehold interest.
3. On private property where the person has permission to carry concealed weapons from any person with an ownership or leasehold interest.
4. Outside the limits of or confines of any city, if the person is over eighteen (18) years of age and is not otherwise disqualified from being issued a license.
This does not apply to restrict or prohibit the carrying or possession of: Any deadly weapon located in plain view, any lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle, a firearm that is not loaded and is concealed in a motor vehicle, a firearm that is not loaded and is secured in a case, a firearm that is disassembled or permanently altered such that it is not readily operable and, a concealed handgun by a person who is; over twenty-one (21) years of age, a resident of Idaho, and is not disqualified from being issued a license.
REGULAR CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE
When issuing a concealed weapons license, the Sheriff may require the applicant to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm by any of the following:
Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Fish & Game or a similar agency of another state; or possess a valid hunting license; or
Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course, or any National Rifle Association hunter education course; or
Completion of any firearms safety or training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university, private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Law Enforcement; or
Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputes, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement agency or security enforcement agency; or
Presents evidence or equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service; or
Completion of any firearms training, safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor.
ANY APPLICANT WHO HAS NOT COMPLETED AT LEAST ONE OF THE ABOVE TRAINING OPPORTUNITIES WILL NOT RECEIVE A CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE.
ENHANCED CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE
The course instructor is certified by the National Rifle Association, or another nationally recognized organization that customarily certifies firearms instructors as an instructor in personal protection with handguns, or the course instructor is certified by the Idaho Peace Officers Standards and Training Council as a firearms instructor.
The course is at least eight (8) hours in duration, the course is taught face to face and not by electronic or other means and the course includes instruction in:
1. Idaho Law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force, provided that such instruction is delivered by either of the following whose name and credential must appear on the certificate:
A. An active licensed member of the Idaho state bar or
B. A law enforcement officer who possesses an intermediate or higher Idaho Peace Officers Standards and Training certificate.
2. The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns.
3. Self-defense principles and
4. Live fire training including the firing of at least ninety-eight (98) rounds by the student.
DENIED CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE
Any person will be DENIED a Concealed Weapon License under the following conditions:
Is under twenty-one (21) years of age except as per Idaho Code 18-3302 section 20;
Is formally charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year, or
Has been adjudicated guilty in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year; or
Is a fugitive from justice; or
Is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802; or
Is currently suffering or has been adjudicated as follows, based on substantial evidence:
Lacking mental capacity as defined in section 18-210, Idaho Code; or
Mentally ill as defined in section 66-317(m), Idaho Code; or
Gravely disabled as defined in section 66-317(n), Idaho Code; or
An incapacitated person as defined in section 15-5-101(a), Idaho Code.
Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; or
Has received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year, unless the person has successfully completed probation;
Has received a period of probation after having been adjudicated guilty of, or received a withheld judgment for, a misdemeanor offense that has an element the intentional use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against the person or property of another, unless the person has successfully completed probation.
Has had entry of a withheld judgment for a criminal offense which would disqualify them from obtaining a concealed weapons license; or
Is an alien illegally in the United States; or
Is a person who having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced their citizenship; or
Is under eighteen (18) years of age for a Regular license and twenty-one (21) years of age for an Enhanced license; or
Is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime that would disqualify them from obtaining a concealed weapons license.
Is subject to a protection order issued under Chapter 63, title 39, Idaho Code, that restrains the person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of the intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; or
Is for any other reason ineligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of Idaho or Federal law.
REVOKING A CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT
The Sheriff of the county where the license was issued or the Sheriff of the county where the applicant resides shall have the power to revoke a license subsequent to a hearing in accordance with the provisions of Idaho Code 52, title 67, for any of the following reasons:
Fraud or intentional misrepresentation in the obtaining of a license; or
Misuse of a license, including lending or giving a license to another person, or duplicating a license, or using a license with the intent to unlawfully cause harm to a person or property; or
The doing of an act or existence of a condition which would have been grounds for the denial of the license of the Sheriff; or
The violation of any of the terms of this section or being the respondent in a Protection Order; or
The applicant is adjudicated guilty of or receives a withheld judgment for a crime that would have disqualified them initially.
Disclaimer: A Sheriff, Sheriff’s deputy or county employee who issues a license to carry a concealed weapon under this section shall not incur any civil or criminal liability as the result of his/her performance under this section.
If you have any questions that are not answered in this guide, please don’t hesitate to contact the Payette County Sheriff’s Office at 208-642-6006 extension 1142. Also, all of this information was obtained from Idaho Code 18-3302 and subsequent sections; updated on January 1, 2019.